Read our Reviews

5 Stars Facebook May 2016
Dr Tam is informative, friendly, and very easy to talk to! His optician/receptionist is incredibly bubbly and helpful. Two very enthusiastic thumbs up for Spectacle Eye Design!--Mayte Y., Austin, TX

5 Stars Yelp 2/26/2016
Had my first appointment here and LOVED it! Dr. Tam and Jana are sooo friendly and made it a great experience! Highly recommend! Very clean office and thorough eye exam. I'll definitely be back!--Kayla P., Austin, TX

5 Stars Yelp 2/2/2016
After living in Austin for several years, I've found an official optometrist to keep long-term. I have used glasses/corrective lenses for roughly 15 years, which equates to dreading my annual eye exams. Not. Anymore. My visit to Spectacle Eye Design takes the cake, and I couldn't be happier with the new pair of glasses I picked up my earlier today.You can tell that Dr. Tam holds high standards for his company when you walk in the door- everything is clean and the decor is Austin chic at it's finest. The front room is stacked with the perfect selection, combining various colors/styles of both mainstream and unique/foreign frame-wear brands.The staff made my entire experience of selecting new frames exciting & timely. They even had my insurance information printed out beforehand, to show me clear pricing breakdowns for my options. The only difficult part about my visit was deciding which frames to end up with! I'm a repeat customer for sure. --Caitlin B., Austin, TX

5 Stars 
Yelp 12/23/2015
First rate doctor and first rate facility! From scheduling my appointment to checking out, my annual eye exam was seamless. Office was clean and equipment was modern. Dr. Tam took his time and conducted a thorough eye exam. I was a bit nervous because I had missed my annual eye exam the past couple of years but the staff at Spectacle Eye Design took excellent care of me and answered all of my questions. Highly recommend Dr. Tam and his facility for any vision care needs.--S.S., Austin, TX

4 Stars 
Yelp 10/28/2015
The staff here is amazing! I loved Jana. She made it super easy to book an appointment and take care of my frames and lenses. She had all my insurance info ready to go and helped me find the perfect pair. Dr. Tam was very nice and made the whole process very comfortable. I'm grateful they take my insurance because I think I found my new favorite place for glasses!--Victoria A., Austin, TX

5 Stars 
Yelp  7/31/2015
Very friendly staff and super nice office. Fast, efficient appointments. Dr Tam is knowledgeable and very informative.--Jason E., Austin, TX

5 Stars Yelp 5/19/2015
Dr.Tam is awesome. He is personable, intelligent, and most of all, completely genuine. My preferences for a good doctor are sincerity and patience. His exam was thorough, unrushed, and informative.  He educated me  of what is going on with my eyes, advised me on homecare (with samples! ) and gave recommendations for opticals. Wow factor, beyond expectation., Thu M., Austin, TX

5 Stars Yelp 4/10/2015

I freaking love this place, which is so weird to say about any doctor's office, but seriously - if they accept your insurance here, GO HERE.
The place is really cool looking on the inside - very Austin-y. The staff is absolutely wonderful, super helpful, and very nice. My boyfriend and I were seriously impressed by the selection of frames. They are unique, many of them being designed by locals, with a design and frame to fit just about anyone. My boyfriend was jealous that they don't accept his insurance haha - but he did get a pair of awesome shades!--Quay M., Austin, TX

5 Stars Yelp 5/08/2015

I went into spectacle for an eye exam and some new frames. It is a beautiful place with a large selection of frames. The employees were all extremely kind and welcoming. I will be going back for my next pair of frames.--Tyler F., Austin, TX

5 Stars Yelp 02/07/2015

Dr. Tam was very welcoming and hospitable and the ladies at the front were very sweet. My wife's designer sunglasses had a missing nose piece. We came in and within minutes we had a fixed pair of sunglasses. These guys are great.--Tyler L., Austin, TX

5 Stars Yelp 01/29/2015
What can I say about this place that isn't the same ol' same ol'? JANA! That's what. This lady had me at Hello. So nice and helpful. She didn't bat an eye when I mentioned my budget.

Besides being quite a fashionista herself, she has a great eye for helping find something that looks good on you.
She helped out with the insurance bit with a smile, making fun of the dreadful hold music.
Did I mention that I walked in at the end of the day with no appointment?  The level of customer service I received is hard to come by. They have my business from now on!
Go see Jana! You'll be happy you did!!--Charlie W., Austin, TX

5 Stars Yelp 5/19/2015

Dr.Tam is awesome. He is personable, intelligent, and most of all, completely genuine. My preferences for a good doctor are sincerity and patience. His exam was thorough, unrushed, and informative.  He educated me  of what is going on with my eyes, advised me on homecare (with samples! ) and gave recommendations for opticals. Wow factor, beyond expectation.--Thu M., Austin, TX

5 Stars Yelp 4/10/2015

I freaking love this place, which is so weird to say about any doctor's office, but seriously - if they accept your insurance here, GO HERE.
The place is really cool looking on the inside - very Austin-y. The staff is absolutely wonderful, super helpful, and very nice. My boyfriend and I were seriously impressed by the selection of frames. They are unique, many of them being designed by locals, with a design and frame to fit just about anyone. My boyfriend was jealous that they don't accept his insurance haha - but he did get a pair of awesome shades!--Quay M., Austin, TX

5 Stars Yelp 2/07/2015

Dr. Tam was very welcoming and hospitable and the ladies at the front were very sweet. My wife's designer sunglasses had a missing nose piece. We came in and within minutes we had a fixed pair of sunglasses. These guys are great.--Tyler L., Austin, TX